Awards presentation at the Night of Excellence!


Contributing Writer: Kathleen Regalado | Images: CCN-

Where would anyone be without education? The Manassas City Public Schools Education Foundation hosted the Night of Excellence, an awards ceremony that was free and open to all the public in George Mason University‘s Verizon Auditorium. This event served as the Education Foundation’s  moment to pause and congratulate students, teachers and staff on their strong efforts in putting education first and valuing its power. Scholarships were granted to exceptional high school seniors as well as achievement awards to teachers, businesses and all parties that have aided in supporting Manassas’ education system.

Before the ceremony, attendees could wander around the halls to admire artwork from K-12 grade students from Manassas’ Round, Weems, Haydon, Baldwin and Jennie Dean Elementary, Mayfield Intermediate, Metz Middle and Osbourn High school. The artshow showcased the excellent artistic skills of Manassas’ public schools and the imaginative mind they possess in and out of the classroom. Light refreshments were provided throughout the night as well as warm and decadent ordurves afterwards.

Teacher Awards went to: Jeffrey Osborne for Teacher of the Year, Sarah Weaver for MCPS Washington Post Outstanding Teacher, Katrina Ward for Support Employee Excellence, Taylor Forgave for Outstanding First Year Teacher, Lauren Funkhouse for Outstanding Second Year Teacher, Erin  Coffron for Outstanding Third Year Teacher and Kerstin McMahon for Outstanding Mentor of the Year.

Glendy Hernandez was granted a scholarship by Delegate Harry J. Parrish Community Service Scholarship, Harley Meade got the Superintendent Scholarship, Ariane Ramas, Martha Hartt, and Dhalia Metenou were granted STEM scholarships. Jeannette Thoopsamoot was awarded the prestigious Fine Arts Scholarship. CCN’s very own Andrea Lopez was granted the Pathway Scholarship, as was Alaina Anderson. Finally, Zainay Collins and Kylie Makel were granted CTE Scholarships.

After the awards ceremony, the Education Foundation held a silent auction that consisted of a ride with our local firemen, a lunch with Mayor Hal Parrish, Foursome Golf packages, and a gift certificate for innovation camp. Some on CCN’s very own photographs were up for auction as well, past Vice President Jose Lopez even autographed a piece of his work!

The Night of Excellence was a great showcase of the power that teachers and students have over crafting success. The event was sponsored by Micron, US Nails & Spa, United Bank, Novant Health, UVA Health System, Bookworm Central, SMFC, Tackle Management, and the venue was sponsored by George Mason University Science and Technology Campus.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s